28
May
10

Hi. My name’s __________ and I’m an alcoholic…

… although when it came my turn to introduce myself, I was relieved to be able to state that I was simply a visitor.  I had the opportunity to attend an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting in Murray, UT.  Beforehand, I was a little nervous because I had no idea what to expect.  However, as soon as the meeting began I felt like I was in a familiar place.  It was quite like a testimony meeting at church.  Encouraging, emotional, uplifting, and even spiritual.  The experiences those people shared were so moving.  They spoke of the hurt and pain their addiction has caused, not only to them but to their children, their parents, their spouses, and so on.  They commented on how it is a continuous daily battle they fight.  I held back tears of my own when one man explained through his that he had to call his sponsor at the doorstep of the liquor store.

They also expressed the joy and happiness they have felt as a result of their endeavors to turn their lives around.  They love coming to these meetings because they’re all so supportive of one another.  They’re like family.  And for many of them, the people of AA are the only family they have.

I was so grateful for this experience and the insight I gained.  It thrills me to see people changing their lives for the better.


7 Responses to “Hi. My name’s __________ and I’m an alcoholic…”


  1. 1 laurieoneal
    June 2, 2010 at 7:16 PM

    I read that article too and it is so scary that it is so potent that you can be addicted right from the start, even actually killing you with the first try. I always share these articles with my 11-year-old son so he will know how dangerous drugs are and to never even try them at all.

  2. June 3, 2010 at 3:56 PM

    I found this article to be very interesting seeing the fact at how addictive alcohol can be. I am glad to hear that this AA program is in place to help people out and change behaviors as well as addictions. They can and will destroy lives is the thing so one must avoid them at all costs or get help as soon as possible.

  3. June 4, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    That would be a cool experience to go to a meeting like that, I bet it’s touching to see how badly people want to change and that they are willing to admit they are going through such a challenge.

  4. June 7, 2010 at 1:18 AM

    okay so I went to an AA meeting about a year ago to support a friend of mine. It was one of the coolest experiences. Everyone one was so supportive and so open about their struggles and challenges. I learned a lot about the power of admitting that you have a problem, and the strength that you can gain when you share that with other people, even if it’s something small.

  5. 5 saranb
    June 8, 2010 at 5:07 PM

    I think AA is such a great idea if you have seen the movie 28 days it shows how much of a community can be built by mutual understanding and friendship. I wish there were more groups that could be offered like this.

  6. June 22, 2013 at 4:34 AM

    Hi! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours require a large amount of work?
    I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

  7. July 2, 2013 at 9:53 AM

    What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web
    site on a regular basis, this web page is actually
    pleasant and the visitors are actually sharing good thoughts.


Leave a comment